top of page

Theory and Context; Claus Oldenburg

"Soft sculpture has frequently been viewed as anthropomorphic because it evokes the image of the human body (or parts of it), and creates an uncanny feeling of dead organicity come “alive.” However, by the same token, the“body” is objectified and encapsulated in the image of the commodity object in a grotesque and humorous way that defies linguistic description."

(Rottner, 2012)

I believe that the combination of the human body as subject matter along with the soft materials I have been using have enhanced the unnerving, creepy quality of my work. This wasn't necessarily intended in the beginning but I feel that as I have continued making sculptures, this has been increased.

Reference:

Rottner, N. (2012.) Claus Oldenburg and Soft Sculpture: Object Lessons


bottom of page